Texas Emergency Services Retirement System

Board of Trustees

The nine-member Board of Trustees for TESRS is appointed by the Governor. Members are appointed for six year terms.

The composition of the Board is required to include five trustees who are active members of the pension system (including one of whom represents emergency medical services personnel, if the pension system has a participating department that provides emergency medical services), one trustee who is a retiree of the pension fund, and three trustees who have experience in the fields of finance, securities investment, or pension administration.

Pilar Rodriguez, PE, Chairman (Edinburg) - Firefighter Member

In August 2022, Governor Greg Abbott Re-appointed Pilar Rodriguez to a second term for the Board of Trustee, which is set to expire September 1, 2027.  Mr. Rodriguez is the Executive Director for the Hidalgo County Regional Mobility Authority.  Previously, he served the City of McAllen as an Assistant City Manager, Director of Public Works, City Engineer and Director of Traffic Operations.  He also serves as Fire Chief for the Pharr Fire Department, Assistant Fire Chief for the Linn San Manuel Volunteer Fire Department, a structural specialist for Texas A&M Task Force 1 Urban Search and Rescue and as Strike Team Leader for the Texas Public Works Response Team.  He is a member of the Texas Public Works Association and the State Firefighter & Fire Marshals Association.  Rodriguez is a Licensed Professional Engineer and received a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from Texas A&M University in Kingsville, Texas.  

Jerry Romero, Vice- Chairman (El Paso) - Finance Member

In July 2020, Governor Greg Abbott appointed Jerry Romero to the Board of Trustees to a term set to expire on September 1, 2025. Mr. Romero is a Vice President of Community Development for Wells Fargo Bank, N.A. He previously served as a gubernatorial appointee on the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation Board of Directors, and on the Texas Workforce Development Council. He is a board member of United Way of El Paso, president of the El Paso Housing Finance Corporation, and is active in a number of other volunteer roles in his community. Romero attended The University of Texas-El Paso and studied in the field of finance. Additionally, he attended a number of certification programs including The University of Texas at Austin McCombs School of Business for a Compliance Officer certificate, University of Minnesota Minneapolis for a Community Development Officer certificate, and the University of California John E. Anderson Graduate School of Management Latino Leadership Program.

Edward J Keenan, Secretary (Houston) - Firefighter Member

In May 2019, Governor Greg Abbott appointed Edward J. Keenan to the Board of Trustees to a four-year term ending, September 1, 2023. Mr. Keenan oversees the business, financial and administrative functions of the Waisburd Group of Companies in the USA this includes Walworth Valves, the San Jacinto River and Rail Industrial Park.

Jenny Moore,  (Lake Jackson) - Firefighter Member

In May 2010, Governor Rick Perry appointed Virginia (Jenny) Moore of Lake Jackson to the Board of Trustees. Ms. Moore has been with the Lake Jackson Volunteer Fire Department since 1996, currently serving as a fire fighter and Arson Investigator. Jenny is also a Reserve Police Officer for the city of Lake Jackson, as well as a part-time instructor for the Brazosport College Police Academy. Jenny is a guest instructor at the Texas A&M University Firemen’s Training School and holds the position of Office Manager for Starboard Industries. Mrs. Moore is a native of Corpus Christi and holds an Associate’s Degree in Applied Sciences from Brazosport College.

Rodney Alan Ryalls, (Burkburnett) - Firefighter Member

In May 2019, Governor Greg Abbott appointed Rodney Ryalls to the Board of Trustees to a four-year term ending September 1, 2023. Mr. Ryalls was the Fire Chief for Burkburnett Volunteer Fire Department for many years and continues to serve with the Department as a volunteer firefighter. Mr. Ryalls retired from the Air Force as a firefighter in 2004 and began a civil service career with Sheppard Air Force Base Fire Department where he is currently the Deputy Fire Chief.

Brian Smith, (Austin) - Investment Professional Member


In August 2022, Governor Greg Abbott appointed Brian Smith to the Board of Trustees.  Brian is the Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer of Multicoin Capital.  He has nearly 20 years of experience in private sector finance with previous roles in investment banking, public and private equity investing, seed capital, mergers and acquisitions and other aspects of finance. He served as a startup mentor at the Capital Factory and Techstars and as a member of the Advisory Council of the University of Texas Financial Analyst Program.  He also served as a guest lecturer at the University of Texas McCombs School of Business.  Additionally, he volunteered as a board member of the Good Shepherd Episcopal School.  Smith received a Bachelor of Business Administration in Finance from the Business Honors Program at the University of Texas at Austin.  

Stephanie Lynn Wagner, (Wimberley) – Finance Member

In May 2019, Governor Greg Abbott appointed Stephanie Lynn Wagner to the Board of Trustees to a four-year term ending on September 1, 2023. Stephanie Lynn Wagner is the Managing Director and Co-Founder of Sendero Women & Wealth. She serves on the Governor’s Commission for Women.

Matthew “Matt” Glaves (Alvin) -  Retiree Member

In July 2020, Governor Greg Abbott appointed Matt Glaves to the Board of Trustees to a term set to expire on September 1, 2025. Mr. Glaves is a sales manager with Blue Bell Creameries. He is a current captain and investigator with the Alvin Volunteer Fire Department, and he is a retiree of the pension system. He is the treasurer of the Brazoria County Emergency Services District #3, past president of the Kiwanis Club of Alvin, and an instructor of the municipal fire school of the Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service. Additionally, he is a member of the Knights of Columbus #6403 in Alvin/Manvel and a drive coordinator for the Gulf Coast Regional Blood Center.

Nathan Douglas (Seabrook) - Firefighter Member

In July 2020, Governor Greg Abbott appointed Nathan Douglas to the Board of Trustees to a term set to expire on September 1, 2025. Mr. Douglas is Assistant Chief of the Seabrook Volunteer Fire Department, and is the Captain over Patrol District III for the Harris County Sheriff’s Office, where he has worked for over 30 years. As the Captain over the Patrol District, he oversees a team of 130 personnel that are dedicated to protecting Harris County residents and property, preserving the peace, preventing and investigating crime, and enforcing all state and local laws with honor and professionalism.  He is certified as a master peace officer, an emergency medical technician, and firefighter, and is a member of the FBI National Academy Association. Douglas received a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice from the University of Houston, and graduated the FBI National Academy Class # 269 in Quantico, Virginia..